Two become One

The countdown to my move date is getting closer and closer. I still can’t keep up with how fast time moves. Some days I feel like I look at my clock when I wake up for a 6 AM class and then the next time I look at it, it’s all of a sudden 9 PM.   Where is time going? As time keeps passing, the past few weeks here have been wonderful. There have been hard days, but there have also been really great days where God is growing, preparing, and teaching me in incredible ways.

One of my favorite past bits of time here has been the past week (the week before June 20). I knew that week would be crazy busy, because one of my beautiful friends (Miss Abby Cadabby) was getting married!!! We had parties, pray times, rehearsal dinner, and finally the big day! Before this week come I tried to mentally prepare myself for long, but fun nights…but what I didn’t prepare myself for was how God was going to use this wonderful time in my friends’ life to show me incredible things.

First, God reminded me how important a strong female community of believers is. The time I spent with the female side of the bridal party was fantastic. I loved being able to worship God along side these ladies, see His beauty in them, learn more about who we are as women of God, and just praise God for all His works. I watched as each woman poured their heart and soul to God in asking for direction, forgiveness, in giving Him praise, and for saying we surrender it all. We would gather around our friend Abby and see God’s heart for and in her. She is so loved, beautiful, and wonderful, because God is in her! It was one of the most precious moments I have ever seen when it comes to weddings.

Not only were the ladies in the bridal party being warriors, seekers, and worshipers of God…but then I see the men of the wedding party. Praying for one another, encouraging one another, and being real. They were open, honest, excited, and strong. As I stood by the ladies I glanced across the way to the guys who stood there for Abby’s husband, Eric. Each one of them are different, yet the same. Each one is a man of God that I respected more and more as the week went by. I could tell by the way they act around each other, and around the women, that God was working incredible things in and through them. His heart for being the protector, the leader, the joker, the forgiver, the patient one, etc. was there standing before me in each and every one of them. I feel very lucky to be able to say I know those guys- some better than others, but still I know them.

God’s heart for His children is incredible. The detailed way He works in our lives is something that blows my mind every time I take a moment to realize that. Everywhere I looked when at the wedding, I saw God: I saw God’s joy in everyone dancing all funky, His commitment through life long friendships, His grace and forgiveness when times are good or bad, God’s view of seeing us white as snow, His position as our rock in our lives, His power to protect us from the enemy, and most importantly His constant love for us.  It was beautiful, it was magically, and it was spiritually filling. So grateful to have been apart of a wedding that showed God’s heart to me in so many different ways.

I still have about 3 weeks left here in Fort Collins. I am going to try to get as many things off my bucket list as possible. I am going to enjoy the little things, try new things, and be present because before I know it I will be on my road to a new and different season of life. We, as humans,  are constantly changing, growing, learning, and experiencing. It is a beautiful and blessed thing from God. So, let’s see what these next few weeks will contain and adventure on!

Leave a comment